It’s been a particularly tough few weeks as we’ve moved into Stage 4 restrictions.
Many of us are understandably frustrated, scared and What is happening in our world is not normal.  We are responding to this.  So, we just need to make sure the message to EVERYONE in our community (staff, students and parents) is to put your well-being and mental health as a high priority by being kind, compassionate, and forgiving of yourselves and each other.  We are in this together.

The Wellbeing team would like to spread the word about talking openly about mental health and well-being, and seeking support from family, friends as well as online (telehealth), mobile apps, free and confidential phone numbers.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Head to Health – https://headtohealth.gov.au/

Beyond Blue – https://www.beyondblue.org.au/

Black Dog Institute – https://www.blackdoginstitute.org.au/

Reach Out – https://au.reachout.com/

CRISIS NUMBERS (FREE, confidential, 24hours/day, 7days/week, public holidays etc)

Kids Helpline – 1800 55 1800 (also online chat – kidshelpline.com.au/)

Lifeline – 13 11 14 (also online chat – https://www.lifeline.org.au/)

Beyond Blue – 1300 22 46 36 (also online chat – beyondblue.org.au/)

Suicide Call Back – 1300 659 467 – also online – https://www.suicidecallbackservice.org.au/

Whitewreath.org.au – 1300 766 177 or 0410 526 562 – suicide counselling (8am-8pm, Mon-Fri)

Online/phone counselling

eHeadspace (12-25yo) – https://headspace.org.au/eheadspace/

DirectLine – https://www.directline.org.au/ – 1800 888 236 – FREE – 24/7

Counselling Online – https://www.counsellingonline.org.au/ – FREE – 24/7 online counselling

DRUGS & ALCOHOL

https://www.turningpoint.org.au/treatment/clients

PHONE APPS

Mindfulness – https://www.smilingmind.com.au/

Mood Gym – https://moodgym.com.au/

Smiling Mind – https://www.smilingmind.com.au/smiling-mind-app

Clear Fear – https://www.clearfear.co.uk/

Thoughts of self-harm – Calm Harm – https://calmharm.co.uk/

ReachOut Link to Tools & Apps – https://au.reachout.com/tools-and-apps

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander

Free and confidential phone counselling from Victorian Aboriginal Health Service – 1800 95 95 63

PARENT SUPPORT

https://parentline.com.au/ – 1300 30 1300

MENS HEALTH

Mens Line – https://mensline.org.au/ or 1300 78 99 78

Man Up – http://manup.org.au/ – 3 part online TV series

Puka Up – pukaup.com – podcast on mental health

LGBTQI+

https://qlife.org.au/ – 1800 184 527

EATING DISORDERS

1800 33 46 73 – https://thebutterflyfoundation.org.au/

GAMBLING

1800 858 858 – https://www.gamblinghelponline.org.au/

PSYCHOLOGY OPTIONS

Medicare can subsidise up to 10 sessions/year (now up to 20 sessions for Victorians)

You can search for a psychologist at https://www.psychology.org.au/Find-a-Psychologist.  You can contact the psychologist to ask about cost, wait list, telehealth etc.

See the GP for a DOUBLE appointment BEFORE you ATTEND first psychology appointment to get a Mental Health Care Plan.

Local GP can also help you decide on psychologist. GP can do phone/video consultation if they have seen you in last 12months

MY PENOLA: YOUR WELLBEING & MENTAL HEALTH PAGE

We encourage you to also refer to the Wellbeing and Mental Health Page https://my.penola.vic.edu.au/homepage/4054.  We are always actively uploading the best resources to support the needs of our community and always welcome any feedback and suggestions.

Take care, and remember the Wellbeing Team continues to be available to offer support.

The Wellbeing Team